SunStar Wins 3 Trophies At 10th Bright Leaf Awards
November 25, 2017

SunStar wins 3 trophies at 10th Bright Leaf Awards








"> ."> .">


SUNSTAR Cebu's special report "Aging Farmers" bagged the top trophy at the 10th Bright Leaf Agriculture Journalism Awards held Thursday, November 24, at the Sofitel Philippine Plaza in Pasay City.

The annual event recognizes the most outstanding, relevant and compelling agriculture stories in print, radio and television.

"Aging Farmers," published last August 30-31, 2016 in SunStar Cebu, talks about how farmers in the country are getting older each year while the younger generation is turning its back on the agriculture industry.

The two-part series also examines how the government, schools and other stakeholders are making efforts to make farming a viable, profitable and sustainable option for young Filipinos.

The series was written by SunStar Cebu's Jujemay Awit, Rianne Tecson and Cherry Ann Lim.

Meanwhile, SunStar Pampanga's Ian Ocampo Flora won his third trophy at the Bright Leaf Awards on Thursday.

Flora's article "So what is holding up the commercialization of tobacco by-products?" published last August 30, 2016 in SunStar Pampanga, was awarded Tobacco Story of the Year.

Flora's "The Future of Tobacco in Central Luzon" article also won in the same category last year. He also took home the Best Agriculture Regional Feature Story back in 2013.

SunStar Cagayan de Oro's Erwin Mascarinas took home the Best Agriculture Photo of the Year for his winning photo titled "Between Herons and Farming."

Here's the complete list of winners at the 10th Bright Leaf Agriculture Journalism Awards:

Agriculture Story if the Year: "Aging Farmers" by Jujemay Awit, Cherry Ann Lim, Rianne Tecson (SunStar Cebu)

Best Agri Feature Story (Regional): "Lives and Terraces Intertwined" by Mary Grace Nidoy (PhilRice Magazine)

Best Agri Feature Story (National): "Open Air Museum in Ifugao Presents Culture, Sustains Native Rice Planting" by Rizaldy Comanda (The Manila Bulletin)

Best Agri News Story (Regional): "Saving Benguet's Vegetable Industry" by Karlston Lapniten (Baguio Chronicle)

Best Agri News Story (National): "Ilocos Dragon Fruit Brings Cure and Income to Many" by Freddie Lazaro (The Manila Bulletin)

Best Agri Radio Program/Segment: "Agri-Tayo" hosted by Ariel Tejada (DWCI-FM Ilocos Norte)

Best Agri TV Program/Segment: "Governor Genoroso Special" produced by Karren Montejo for "Agri Tayo Dito" (ABS-CBN Davao)

Best Agri Photo of the Year: "Between Herons and Farming" by Erwin Mascarinas (SunStar Cagayan de Oro)

Tobacco Photo of the Year: "A Farmer" by Erwin Beleo (Tempo)

Tobacco Story of the Year: "So What is Holding Up the Commercialization of Tobacco By-Products?" by Ian Ocampo Flora (SunStar Pampanga)

Established in 2007 by Philip Morris Philippines Manufacturing Incorporated, the Bright Leaf Agriculture Awards have already received more than six thousand entries in the last decade. They've also awarded more than 80 trophies to 60 media practitioners, radio and television programs.

During Thursday’s awarding, Bright Leaf affirmed its committed to promoting and creating awareness on the most current and pressing agricultural issues and best farming practices.

The 10th Bright Leaf Agriculture Journalism Awards was hosted by model/columnist Bianca Valerio and broadcaster Tony Velasquez. (Sunnex)

printercamerascreenlaptopvolume-medium linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram