Another Winning Season
November 30, 2015

In the Bright Leaf Agriculture Journalism Awards, my winning entry was a three-part series on how to end hunger which was serialized in the December 2014 issue of EDGE Davao.
Before I received my award, the host read this piece: “The world’s population continues to grow.  Food production is in peril as destruction of natural resources remains unabated. Soil erosion, for instance, is one of the most pressing problems that beset food production.  But there is always a possible solution for every problem.  The Mindanao Baptist Rural Life Center in southern Mindanao has discovered a solution: Sloping Agricultural Land Technology.  It integrates various conservation systems along with food production techniques. “Fish, the source of most protein of Filipinos, is likewise in jeopardy.  In Davao Gulf, the production continues to go down.  The same is happening in other parts of the country.  The possible solution, if proper management is taken, is aquaculture.  Climate change, pesticide use, and malnutrition are problems that have affected almost every people in the world.  One possible solution to the problem has been identified: biotechnology.  If used properly and responsibly, it may be the answer to the dwindling global food production.”

It was good that Neilwin Joseph L. Bravo, our managing editor, was around when I received the award. I want to thank Baguio photographer Mauricio Victa, who was declared an Oriental awardee during the night, in taking the photo when the trophy was given to me.

The other winners were Manila Bulletin’s Rizaldy Comanda, Best Agriculture News Story National; Baguio Midland Courier’s Hanna Lacsamana, Best Agriculture News Story Regional, Philippine Daily Inquirer‘s Anselmo Roque, Best Agriculture Feature Story National.

In the broadcast categories, the winners were Ronde Alicaya of DXCC RMN Cagayan de Oro, Best Agriculture Radio Program or Segment; and television host Ruben Gonzaga and producer Karren Verona of ABS-CBN Davao, Best Agriculture TV Program or Segment.

The top winners were were Sun Star Cebu’s Cherry Ann T. Lim, Agriculture Story of the Year; Sun Star Pampanga’s Ian Ocampo Flora, Tobacco Story of the Year; Manila Standard Today’s David Chan Leprozo, Agriculture Photo of the Year; and Baguio Chronicle’s Frank Cimatu, Tobacco Photo of the Year.

printercamerascreenlaptopvolume-medium linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram